English Premier League 2017/2018
The 2017–18 Premier League will be the 26th season of the Premier League, the top English professional league for association football clubs, since its establishment in 1992. The season is scheduled to start on 12 August 2017 and finish on 13 May 2018.

Chelsea are the defending champions. Newcastle United, Brighton & Hove Albion and Huddersfield Town have entered as the promoted teams from the 2016-17 EFL Championship.

Twenty teams will compete in the league – the top seventeen teams from the previous season, and three teams promoted from the Championship.


2017–18 Premier League Teams

Teams who were promoted to the Premier League
The first club to be promoted was Brighton & Hove Albion, following their 2–1 win at home to Wigan Athletic on 17 April 2017, coupled with Huddersfield Town's 1–1 draw against Derby County. Brighton will play in the top flight of English football for the first time since 1983, and will play in the Premier League for the first time in their history.

The second club to be promoted was Newcastle United, sealing their immediate return to the Premier League by beating Preston North End 4–1 at home on 24 April 2017. They were crowned champions on 7 May 2017 after beating Barnsley 3–0 at home, coupled with Aston Villa's last gasp 1–1 draw against fellow promoted club Brighton.

The third and final club to be promoted was play-off winners Huddersfield Town, who beat Reading 4–3 on penalties after a 0–0 draw in both regular and extra time in the EFL Championship play-off final on 29 May 2017. Huddersfield will play in the top flight of English football for the first time in 45 years, and will play in the Premier League for the first time in their history.

Teams who were relegated to the EFL Championship
The first club to be relegated was Sunderland, ending their 10-year stay in the Premier League after a 1–0 home defeat to AFC Bournemouth on 29 April 2017.

The second club to be relegated was Middlesbrough, who suffered an immediate return to the Championship following a 3–0 away defeat to Chelsea on 8 May 2017.

The third and final club to be relegated was Hull City, who also suffered an immediate return to the Championship following a 4–0 away defeat to Crystal Palace on 14 May 2017, with Palace securing their safety in the division with the result. Defeat for Hull, coupled with relegation rivals Swansea City's 2–0 victory against Sunderland the day before, condemned them to a second relegation in three seasons.

Bournemouth Vitality Stadium 11,464
London Emirates Stadium 60,432
Brighton Falmer Stadium 30,750
Burnley Turf Moor 22,546
London Stamford Bridge 41,623
London Selhurst Park 26,309
Liverpool Goodison Park 40,569
HuddersfieldJohn Smith's Stadium24,500
Leicester King Power Stadium 32,500
Liverpool Anfield 54,074
Manchester Etihad Stadium 55,097
Manchester Old Trafford 76,100
Newcastle St James' Park 52,354
Southampton St Mary's Stadium 32,689
Stoke-on-Trent bet365 Stadium 28,383 [1]
Swansea Liberty Stadium 20,972
London Wembley Stadium [2]90,000
Watford Vicarage Road 21,977
West Bromwich The Hawthorns 26,500
London London Stadium 57,000
1: ^ Capacity of bet365 Stadium to increase to over 30,000 prior to start of 2017–18 season.
2: ^ Tottenham Hotspur will play at Wembley due to the rebuilding of their own stadium at White Hart Lane.

Personnel and kits
TeamShirt sponsorKit manufacturer
Mansion GroupUmbro
American ExpressNike
Mansion GroupMacron
PURE Legal (Home), RadianB (Away), Cavonia (3rd)Puma
King PowerPuma
Standard CharteredNew Balance
Etihad Airways, Nexen TireNike
Virgin MediaUnder Armour
bet365, Top ElevenMacron

See also: List of 2017–18 Premier League Manager

Managerial changes
TeamOutgoing managerIncoming managerDate of appointment
Sam Allardyce TBC
Marco Silva Marco Silva27 May 2017

Fixtures & Results

Main article: 2017–18 Premier League Fixtures & Results

League table