All 20 Teams 2017/2018 Serie A TIM
The 2017–18 Serie A (known as the Serie A TIM for sponsorship reasons) is the 119th season of top-tier Italian football, the 86th in a round-robin tournament and the 8th since its organization under a league committee separate from Serie B. Juventus are the six-time defending champions.

Juventus are defending champions, and last season won the Serie A six times in a row.

On 13 May 2017, SPAL was promoted from Serie B after 49 years. Five days later, Hellas Verona was promoted from Serie B after one year of relegation. One more team will be determined through the final playoffs promotion to Serie A.


2017–18 Serie A Teams

Promotion and relegation (pre-season)
A total of 20 teams will contest the league, including 17 sides from the 2016–17 season and three promoted from the 2016–17 Serie B. This will include the two top teams from the Serie B, and the winners of the play-offs.

SPAL 2013 was the first team from Serie B to achieve promotion. Hellas Verona was promoted as the runners-up.

The three promoted clubs will replace Empoli, Palermo and Pescara who were relegated at the end of the previous season.