2018–19 La Liga
League:2018–19 La Liga
Association: Real Federación Española de Fútbol (RFEF)
Defending Champion:Barcelona (2017–18)
Promoted teams:TBA
Matches played:365
Dates: 2018 – 2019

The 2018–19 La Liga season, also known as La Liga Santander for sponsorship reasons, will be the 88th since its establishment. The season will begin in August 2018 and will conclude in May 2019.


2018–19 La Liga

A total of 20 teams will contest the league, including 17 sides from the 2017–18 season and three promoted from the 2017–18 Segunda División. This will include the two top teams from the Segunda División, and the winners of the play-offs.

Teams relegated to Segunda Division
The first team to be relegated from La Liga were Málaga. Their relegation was ensured on 19 April 2018, following a late 1−0 defeat to Levante, ending their 10-year spell in the top division.

The second team to be relegated were Las Palmas, after a 4−0 defeat to Deportivo Alavés on 22 April 2018, ending their three-year spell in the league.

The last team to be relegated were Deportivo La Coruña, following a 4−2 loss to FC Barcelona on 29 April 2018. This result ensured Deportivo's third relegation in seven years, and also handed Barcelona their 25th La Liga title.