2018–19 Premier League
League:2018–19 Premier League
Association: The Football Association
Total teams:20
Defending Champion:Manchester City (2017–18)
Promoted teams:Wolverhampton Wanderers, Cardiff City
Matches played:365
Dates:11 2018 – 19 2019

The 2018–19 Premier League will be the 27th season of the Premier League, the top English professional league for association football clubs, since its establishment in 1992. The season will start on 11 August 2018 and is scheduled to finish on 19 May 2019. Fixtures for the 2018–19 season are due to be announced on 14 June 2018.

Manchester City are the defending champions, while Wolverhampton Wanderers and Cardiff City are thus far, the only clubs promoted from the 2017–18 EFL Championship.


2018–19 Premier League

Twenty teams will compete in the league - the top seventeen teams from the previous season, and three teams promoted from the EFL Championship.

As of 5 May 2018, Arsenal, Bournemouth, Brighton & Hove Albion, Burnley, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Everton, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur, Watford and West Ham United are the teams to mathematically ensure their place in the Premier League for the 2018–19 season.

Teams promoted to the Premier League
The first club to be promoted was Wolverhampton Wanderers, following Fulham's 1–1 draw against Brentford on 14 April 2018. Wolves will play in the Premier League for the first time since the 2011–12 season. They will also be promoted as 2017–18 EFL Championship winners, after clinching the title on 21 April 2018 following a 4–0 victory against Bolton Wanderers.

The second club to be promoted was Cardiff City who were promoted after drawing 0–0 against Reading and following Fulham's 3–1 defeat to Birmingham City on 5 May 2018. Cardiff will play in the top flight for the first time since the 2013–14 season.

Teams relegated to the EFL Championship
The first club to be relegated was Stoke City, who were relegated on 5 May 2018 following a 2–1 defeat to Crystal Palace, ending their 10-year stay in the top flight.